Suicide Squad (2016)

Why I was hearing so many criticisms about this film is unexplainable to me. In my eyes I thought this film was great, there was plenty of action, a bit of romance and utter crazy hilarity. Because to say the least, there are some crazy bitches in this film. Yeah the plot was predictable and obvious, but personally that didn’t make much of a difference to me, I still enjoyed the film. And I didn’t go to watch it because I thought I was going to be shocked by the plot or be left puzzled by what’s going to happen next; it’s just not that sort of film. There aren’t plot twists and it isn’t a mystery. It’s just a good old fashioned action packed superhero film. Superheroes? Well bad guys helping the world instead.

I really loved all the characters, especially the introductions to them all. I love that David Ayer chose to introduce the characters in colourful explosions. Each bad guy was introduced by Viola Davis’ character, Amanda Waller, through a background story of how they were captured but also what their talents were. The characters were freeze framed as a portrait to the audience, as a list of their talents portrayed themselves and information that was key for the audience to know was displayed. I love how different this was to other films. It focused on that they were bad guys, rather than showing how they’re saving the world as superheroes, but frozen as they were caught or like on a wanted poster; there was a definite focus that they weren’t the good guys. The film definitely had more of an exaggeration on Deadshot (Will Smith) and Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), they significantly had more screen time than the other characters. But they were the best characters, so I’m ok with this.

SUICIDE SQUAD

All the actors were brilliant. Will Smith understandably was outstanding, it’s Will Smith, of course he is! And I have to agree with the massive craze over Margot Robbie’s Harley Quinn, she played her so crazy, yet also crazy in love, that she was brilliant and also hilarious. Jared Leto’s version of the Joker was completely different to Heath Ledger’s, who in my opinion will always be the best Joker. However, the Joker in ‘Suicide Squad’ was creative in his smile having tattoos instead of scarring, and the differences were needed because Ledger’s was such a massive success. Leto’s Joker was crazed by his love for Harley Quinn, creating a desperate and fierce Joker who would go to any limits to save her. The other bad guys, Diablo (Jay Hernandez), “the fire bloke”, Killer Croc (Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje), “the crocodile”, Boomerang (Jai Courtney), thief; were all great in their own way as well. Cara Delevingne’s character, the Enchantress, however, was one that I didn’t expect, I didn’t realise from the trailers that was where the film was going (without giving too much away). Her character didn’t stand out as one of the best, but she played it well. Joel Kinnaman as the soldier Rick Flag is also worth a mention.

Suicide Squad - protecting Flag

This anti-hero film or as one of the trailers states the “worst heroes ever”, are in my opinion ones to remember. The way in which ‘Suicide Squad’ was directed, made them seem not as much as anti-heroes, even if they were the bad guys, but like Batman was a bad guy because he caught some of them and put them in jail. I don’t know if this was just something that I felt from the film, but because each of the characters has a strong significant powerful emotion it made them more human to the audience and to see from their side. The protagonists were made more real, even if they were psychopaths. Deadshot’s love and need to be seen in a good light by his daughter, like any father. Harley Quinn’s undeniable uncontrollable love for the Joker. Diablo’s want to not be who he is because of his past. Even the Killer Croc in the way he hides away who he is under a hoody. It took such a different take to the usual Marvel and DC superheroes that I really liked.

Now for one of my favourite aspects of the film. The soundtrack. It was brilliant. It kept the film alive, especially with the action. In a way, it was like some character’s had their own soundtrack to explain their personality. The songs were a bunch of new and old classics. From the great ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ by Queen, to twenty one pilots ‘Heathens’.

Suicide Squad - characters

I enjoyed the film and would recommend it. I thought it was a different take on a superhero film that didn’t follow the stereotypical superheroes of Iron Man, Superman or Thor, nothing like ‘Avengers Assemble’ for example. Don’t get me wrong I love those a lot too, but ‘Suicide Squad’ was a twisted bad guy version which should get equal praise in my opinion. Something as small as Will Smith’s character mentioning “Suicide Squad” in the film, when referencing their new group, I loved. Additionally, the film ended suggesting there could be another film, and I really hope there will be.

One thought on “Suicide Squad (2016)

Leave a Reply

