Bitten (2014-)

So when I finished ‘Fresh Prince of Bel-Air’ I needed a new programme. Then I saw that this one, a fan of supernatural programmes, I thought I’d give this a go. New to Netflix, and only series one available, and honestly, I finished it in one day. I was hooked. To begin with, I wasn’t impressed, yet half an hour in, and I was more intrigued, I needed to know what was happening at Stonehaven, who was Elena, why were people dying? You get warped in pretty quickly.

Elena’s (Laura Vandervoort) life was simple and happy in Toronto with her new boyfriend Philip (Paul Greene) and her new life. However, she can’t keep her past life away for too long, especially when Jeremy (Greg Bryk) calls everyone home, including Elena, when a tragedy strikes. This is when we discover they’re all werewolves, and the family, well the family is Jeremy’s pack. All of them, Antonio (Paulino Nunes), his son Nick (Steve Lund), Pete (Joel Keller), Logan (Michael Xavier), and not forgetting Clay (Greyston Holt). All men, Elena only woman, coincidence? I’m not saying anything. Anyway, Elena’s reluctance to coming back home is soon figured out through the tension between her and Clay.

bitten-whole-pack

I guess you either hate or love this programme. But personally, I was absorbed into wanting to know what was going on. Everything was so fast pace and nothing seemed to ever fully answer the questions, so I had to watch and find out. I was hooked. Just want to mention, this is a show for older ages, the amount of sex there is in this programme means it’s definitely a show unsuitable for young audiences. Disregarding that, the tension and supernatural mystery with the werewolves is what it’s watched for. The audience is absorbed into wanting to know what will happen as Elena tries to solve issues at Stonehaven quickly, trying to get back to her human boyfriend who knows nothing. As lies grow and more issues arrive, Elena finds herself stuck in her past while present deaths create more tensions. No one is safe in this programme.

bitten-elena

So even though Elena seems to be the main protagonist, we learn a lot about other characters as well. She does not carry the show, significantly, we learn a lot about Clay, a cleverly complicated, yet favourite character of mine. We get to know the whole pack of North America, who I’ve already stated. Also we get to know some villains of the programme, or otherwise known as the mutts, which basically, are disregarded werewolves that are not in the pack, alone in the world and unable to stay in the same place for a long time. We soon learn all about Pack Law and all the background knowledge we just want to invest in more. Just like any great show, it leaves the audience wanting to know more. But in this show, there is always more than one thing going on, we want to know everything. Can’t find that out unless you watch it. It’s a new world to get to know.

bitten-jeremy-and-elena

You have to be a fan of the supernatural if you want to watch this, obviously. But honestly, I was absorbed into it and wanted to know everything soon enough. Ok so maybe, it wasn’t right away I was hooked, because I turned it off half way through the first episode, but strangely something was pulling me back to it and after watching the first episode and when Elena was finally back at Stonehaven, things started to kick in and that was it. Maybe, I’m just a person who gets too involved into programmes way too quickly, I don’t know. But I am a fan of this show and I can’t wait to watch the next few series. Plus, it helps all the actors are great.

Leave a Reply

