Beauty and the Beast (2017)

The moment I found out this interpretation was going to exist, I couldn’t have been more excited. Then I found out who Belle was going to be played by and I knew it was going to be amazing. Being a fan of Harry Potter and growing up believing Hermione Granger was the best and a role model; Emma Watson in anything I would love. The best thing to say is that I wasn’t let down. Not one bit. I absolutely loved the film.

So if you didn’t know, this 2017 film is an interpretation of the Disney Classic Princess number five. One of the best princesses I would say. This 2017 adaption is very close to the 1991 film, although there were added parts, in which I thought were excellent additional scenes to the film and should be appreciated. I liked that they added more to the film as it meant that those who have seen the classic aren’t guessing every single aspect that next happens. Instead, we are thrown into different and more intense emotions, for example, the depth within the past of Belle’s mother and what happened to her. This does mean the film is longer, although not by much, two hours and nine minutes flew by and to be honest I wish there was more and I would watch over and over again. These additional scenes also meant there were much more songs. You think you’re going into a film knowing the original soundtrack off by heart, but you will be mistaken when there are many new songs to enjoy.

Beauty and the Beast 2017 2

I’m guessing the majority know the story of ‘Beauty and the Beast’ and therefore know the ending. I apologise here if you don’t and do not read ahead (although it is a Disney so you can probably guess anyway). But I have to mention the amount of actors I recognised after they returned back human, and I didn’t even know it was them from the voices! I was completely shocked that Ian McKellen was Cogsworth, or that Lumière was voiced by Ewan McGregor, again, Mrs Potts being Emma Thompson! Didn’t recognise any of those voices at all, but a nice surprise they were actors and actresses I did know and many would know so well! The acting in the whole film was excellent as well. The Beast was well played by Dan Stevens, he even made some of his parts comical. Which I loved that the film was also funny in aspects. Gaston was also played well, by Luke Evans, he executed the villain of the film down to the final point. And, oh and, I cannot forget LeFou, played by Josh Gad, a comical character as always, but one who also has moral-testing moments in the film. He was excellent in the song boasting about Gaston, he added so much emotion and comedy to the character, and you could definitely see it in the song.

Beauty and the Beast 2017 3

Now I have to mention the animation. It was outstanding! Everything looked so realistic as you were transported to this little village in France. The attention to detail was so thorough, it really was phenomenal. For example the detail in Cogsworth and Lumière were brilliant, or the graphics to change the actor Dan Stevens to the Beast, or even the whole spectacle of ‘Be Our Guest’ with the colours and all the different appliances during dinner. It definitely made the film realistic and believable in a magical cursed castle.

Beauty and the Beast 2017 1

You can probably tell I enjoyed this film very much. Especially if you’re a fan of the original ‘Beauty and the Beast’, I don’t think you can be disappointed with this one. Yes, there are added sections but it is still brilliant and just brings in deeper emotions to the film, and yes you can considerably tell that there is more songs, but oh well, it is just as good and makes it even more of a musical. I would watch this film over and over again, and definitely be buying the DVD when it comes out. It rose to all the expectations I was hoping for. I loved it!

2 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast (2017)

Leave a Reply

