The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)

Wow, what a bizarre, confusing, random, overdramatic film this one was… I’m lost for words at how random this film was, I just didn’t understand the whole film. To say there was much escalation would be an understatement, I’ve never seen a film with so much escalation in my life. It started odd anyway, but then by the end… I was confused how I even ended up with this ending.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - Frank N Furter

So maybe due to the overdramatic emotions and acting, it’s supposed to be on stage and leave it on stage as a dramatic theatrical show. This would make sense, theatre is one of a kind and of course I’m a fan, but what is seen on theatre can never fully be developed to film, there has to be some adjustments, and I feel like this film was supposed to be on stage and that’s where it should be and stay. It was a theatre production first. There were occasional moments where the characters looked into the camera as well, especially the criminologist speaking to the audience, this makes the audience more personal, but also highlights the divide of the film screen – again suggesting it is probably best as a theatre show. Also, it is regarded as a parody of older sci-fi films, so this explains the overdramatic and almost forced acting, but to be honest, I struggled to find the comedy in this. Regardless, I have to admit Tim Curry does play his character well, he does execute every part of his complex character.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - all

I would try to explain the plot, but to be honest, I don’t really understand how I can. For starters, there is a newly-engaged couple, Brad (Barry Bostwick) and Janet (Susan Sarandon); when their car breaks down in the pouring rain, they turn to the one place nearby. A big castle. But they didn’t know that those in the castle were going to strip them down and keep them there. Why not? Things just escalate from there, into random. I get the characters and I think I understand what the film was trying to do? No, I’m not sure. You meet all the new characters, fine fine, then suddenly there’s other things revealed, which in case of spoiling and I wish not to, I will just leave there, but these things are just so random and bizarre… Anyway, jumping from this story is a criminologist narrating, as he is in the future from what we are witnessing. I have to admit, this bit I actually did like, I liked that he was there to turn back to narrate other parts not entirely explained, or just add a bit of comedy in the ‘Time Warp’ song. That was done well.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show - Rocky

Ok, so this film is a musical. And I’m sorry to say, this didn’t even stand out. I wasn’t a fan of the singing, I wasn’t fan of many of the songs, some I couldn’t even hear the lyrics. The one song I enjoyed and was happy with a character who could actually sing was killed off – I’m not ruining it as you don’t know who that is. And then finally, there were just too many songs. They were clumped together too much, there wasn’t enough break between some songs.

As you can probably tell, I wasn’t a fan. If you didn’t get that drift, then I definitely was not a fan. It was just all to random and bizarre. Everything escalated into strange. Another thing I should mention that this is definitely not a film for younger ages, a bit too inappropriate. I didn’t understand the comedy and I didn’t like the songs. So for a comedy musical film, I would say no. Maybe that’s just me though, because apparently this is one of the musical classics… At least I can say I’ve seen it once, probably won’t be able to say I’ve seen it for a second time however.

Leave a Reply

