Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)

So another Spider-Man and another actor. But a great actor, Tom Holland was amazing! He’s also actually an actor that looks the age he is supposed to be at school, ok so he’s actually 20/21 and he’s supposed to be 15, but at least he’s believable; so of course that’s a plus. Tom Holland was a great decision for this film, he plays Peter Parker as a witty, hard-working, determined young teenager. A young teenager who wants to make it into the Avengers, with Iron Man’s head of security supposed to be looking after him, Peter does whatever he can to be bigger than the “local” superhero.

Something which makes this film stand out from the other Spider-Man’s is the fact that they went straight in with the plot, no back story, no story of a spider and Peter, he was Spider-Man from the beginning and remained Spider-Man to the end. We all know the story has been done, so it made a great difference that it wasn’t in this one. No repetitions, new actor, new plot, new story. A plot with the enemy played by 1992’s Batman… Michael Keaton as Toomes or the Vulture. Just saying.

SpiderMan Homecoming 1

One of the best things I have to praise about this film is the time scheduling, bringing Spider-Man into the Marvel Film Universe and into the Avengers, it was so clever and tied in this new Spider-Man amazingly well. So as you can probably guess the Avengers are a major part of this film, but it is not taken away from Spider-Man. For example, Peter’s determination comes from the Avengers and Captain America is seen in DVD form. But happily, and so happily, Robert Downey Jr. as Tony Stark aka Iron Man is threaded throughout the whole film. Of course is he as great as ever. Am I wishing Thor could have shown his face? Maybe, but it’s Spider-Man, not another Avengers film.

I can’t say I had many bad things to say about this film, it was really enjoyable. It is quite long, but then again a lot does happen, it is jam-packed with a lot of action and normal school issues. I have to admit though, they make out that Zendaya is a big part and she really isn’t, which is a bit of a shame. She plays Michelle, who is a great character, she’s nothing that I thought she would be, but she brings comedy and is a character who should have been present a bit more in the film in my opinion. Instead the film had a different girl as centre, this being Liz (Laura Harrier), don’t get me wrong she wasn’t bad at all, but Zendaya’s character had so much potential and she could have been present more.

SpiderMan Homecoming 2

I watched ‘Spider-Man: Homecoming’ in IMAX. I don’t know how many people have watched in IMAX, and this was my first experience, so a quick personal side-note about it from me. I can’t say I was the biggest fan, however the film was great and I still enjoyed it, especially in the decent comfy seats at the cinema. The sound was phenomenal coming from all around the cinema, that does make a difference in an action film in particular. But the 3D? Maybe I’m just old-fashioned; tilt your head and some parts go blurry and the screen was so big the corners weren’t in focus. But the parts that did look great (which was the majority) were in a good quality. But I think watching it in 2D, it will still be a great film. I don’t think, I know. But if you haven’t been to an IMAX cinema, it is an experience and definitely worth it to go at least once.

Anyway back to Spider-Man. I honestly think it could be one of the best Spider-Man films. And Tom Holland was great (as I’ve already stated many times). I love all the characters, and I love the plot. I especially love the ties to the Avengers and the bringing in of the time scale of Peter Parker and the new Spider-Man film where they fit into what has previously happened in the Avengers. Obviously, Peter Parker starting at ‘Captain America: Civil War’; the start of the film being a personal video diary from Spider-Man himself. If you’re a fan of the superhero movies or the Marvels, then I’m guessing you’ve already seen it. But if you haven’t, it’s not a let-down and I urge you to go see it. Wouldn’t you be curious to meet the new Spider-Man anyway?

Leave a Reply

