Gilmore Girls (2000 – 2007)

Unfortunately, I didn’t watch this when it was being released, since that meant I would have to start watching at the age of four… I do think that I might have struggled with the concept at that age. However, I remember watching a random episode when it was the only English programme on TV during a rainy day on holiday in Italy. Once I’d watched this first episode, I had become hooked. I then proceeded to watch the entire seven seasons after buying the box sets. I became obsessed. I have also recently rewatched the entire seven seasons again with no regrets at all!

In the small town of Stars Hollow, we follow the Gilmore girls: Lorelai Gilmore (Lauren Graham) and her daughter Lorelai Gilmore, however she’s known as Rory Gilmore (Alexis Bledel). We follow their lives in education, relationships and growing up. This mother/daughter combination is definitely my favourite shown on TV. Their witty comments, their obsession with coffee and their reliance on classic film quotes; their friendship is a delight to watch.

Along with Lorelai and Rory Gilmore, there are many characters to appreciate in this show. Two characters that are prominent are Emily (Kelly Bishop) and Richard Gilmore (Edward Herrmann) – the parents of Lorelai. Understanding the relationship between the parents and Lorelai is incredibly complex, but one that is dominant in the programme, especially the introduction of the Friday Night Dinners much to Lorelai’s protest.

Furthermore, there’s the grumpy but exceptional diner owner Luke Danes (Scott Patterson), and Lorelai’s best friend and chef Sookie St. James (played by the phenomenal Melissa McCarthy). Additionally, the love-hate friendship between Rory and Paris Geller (Liza Weil) and the hilarious Kirk (Sean Gunn) who pops up everywhere. I cannot forget the rock star in Lane Kim (Keiko Agena), Rory’s childhood best friend and the hilariously cynical Michel (Yanic Truesdale). Even the minor characters of Miss Patty (Liz Torres) and Babette (Sally Struthers) must be adored. I cannot name all of the characters, there are many more that I love and should be appreciated on screen.

There are definite ups and downs, however I do love the entire series. Although saying this, season six is probably the worse season, but there’s still things to love within. Furthermore, season seven brought in a new company and new writers, due to this there is a definite change of tone. The earlier seasons are definitely better, even though one of my favourite characters is only present in the final seasons. Netflix also released ‘A Year in the Life’ nearly ten years after the initial end of this show in 2016, which as a ‘Gilmore Girls’ fan was incredibly exciting.

‘Gilmore Girls’ is such an easy-watching drama. It has comedy, romance and heart. Lorelai and Rory are such empowering, phenomenal characters to watch on screen. You really become to understand and love this mother/daughter duo. I think Lorelai has to be one of my favourite characters ever, her strength and flaws are exceptional. I do believe ‘Gilmore Girls’ to be a fantastic, enjoyable drama. It’s heart-warming, even heart-breaking at times. But it’s just so easy-watching and can’t not make the audience smile. With the title singing ‘where you lead, I will follow’, ‘Gilmore Girls’ becomes addictive and by the end of the seven seasons, I’m still blubbing at it’s ‘Bon Voyage’ finale.

2 thoughts on “Gilmore Girls (2000 – 2007)

Leave a comment