A Discovery of Witches (2018 -)

I do love a supernatural romance TV fantasy show and this is exactly that. ‘A Discovery of Witches’ predominantly follows Diana Bishop (Teresa Palmer), a historian and witch. While researching in Oxford, Diana becomes in possession of Ashmole 782; unknown to her is the power of this book and the burning desire the other creatures plead for it. This leads for Matthew Clairmont (Matthew Goode), a vampire, to come crashing into her life. Diana’s life is turned upside down as she is forced into the creature world as witches, vampires and demons all become interested in the rumour that is a witch finding the sacred book that has vanished for hundreds of years.

Alike to so many other fantasy shows, we are presented with this new environment through a character who is also new to the world. Diana is a great main protagonist and with Matthew by her side, he guides her and us in this differing world. It’s always clever to experience and learn about this world along with the character and it’s always successful in this way. ‘A Discovery of Wicthes’ does this incredibly well.

The cinematography of this show is absolutely stunning. The scenery, the landscapes, all exceptional. Another phenomenal element is the soundtrack. It perfectly represents what is happening on screen and influences the audience’s mood. Additionally, once we get into season two, the costumes are also phenomenal. The show looks expensive and it’s been produced and directed exceptionally well. There are no faults in that section.

However, unfortunately, there were a few faults across the seasons for me.

I have to admit from the first episode of season one I was hooked. I loved the intrigue of this new world and learning all about the creatures. I do love escaping into fantasy lands especially ones with witches and vampires and this one did not disappoint. The plot of the first season is addictive and getting to know these new characters is enjoyable. It has mystery flittered into every plot line which was just captivating to watch.

Although, there is a significant change in season two in every aspect possible. Unfortunately, it does seem rushed in the second season. Along with this, a lot of new characters are introduced, but I don’t think they all get the screen time and background development they deserve. There are some definite characters who deserved more in the second season. I was completely invested in the first season, but this seemed to have evaporated by the differing plots and mass of characters in season two. I did still enjoy it, but it felt too rushed and didn’t dedicate time as well as the first season had.

Overall, I have enjoyed watching ‘A Discovery of Witches’. I particularly loved season one as I watched it within two days (I was fully hooked into the mystery). Season two has some great elements, but unfortunately I lost momentum with it. It seemed too much of a drastic change for me and this meant I lost intrigue. Nevertheless, the cinematography and acting has been excellent across the seasons. The landscapes are continuously stunning and the actors are well cemented into their roles. I particularly love Marcus (Edward Bluemel). It has positives and negatives for me; but I do wish the second season would have spent a bit more time expressing the new characters. When it comes down to it, I do think I’ll be watching season three.

Leave a comment