The Hustle (2019)

Starring Anne Hathaway and Rebel Wilson you can’t help but think that this movie is going to be great. Penny (Rebel Wilson) is a small time con artist stealing money from men. Josephine (Anne Hathaway) is a high class hustler portraying vulnerability to rob upper class men. They both crash in to each other’s lives deciding to team up.

Rebel Wilson on her true comedy form, but with a crime twist. Rebel Wilson does execute some laughs, but overall it’s not as funny as I thought it would be. I was expecting so much more but it just fell flat for me. I could see the moments that were supposed to be funny, but it didn’t quite work. Any of the laughs that were enjoyed were executed by Rebel Wilson however.

The accents are painful. Anne Hathaway, I believe, is supposed to be British for the majority of the film. I was not a fan of any of the accents that scattered this movie unfortunately. In fact, I found them quite distracting and they disconnected me from the film.

This film is absolutely stupid. The plot is incredibly simple and easy to follow. I spent the majority thinking how ridiculous the film is. However, towards the end, it suddenly got loads better. Then I was so there for the plot, really quite enjoying it, but the movie was pretty much over… Overall, I expected so much more; the comedy wasn’t quite there and neither was the potential within crime hustles. They could have done so much more with this plot.

Leave a comment