The Kissing Booth (2018)

A Netflix Original, a romance comedy, a teen movie, a chick flick – everything ‘The Kissing Booth’ is. We follow our main protagonist, Elle Evans, played by Joey King, as she narrates her own life. It begins with a quick recap of her childhood, importantly letting us know of her best friend, Lee (Joel Courtney) and the fact that his family, including his older brother Noah (Jacob Elordi), are practically a larger extended family – they’re that close. Growing up together and even having the same birthday, Elle and Lee have always been inseparable. Nevertheless, this year their friendship is tested and it all starts at a kissing booth.

As I’ve already said this is a teen movie through and through. It seems to be that a lot of teen romcoms that have been released in the late 2010s are cringey and full of embarrassing scenes, they tend to have awkward acting and unwatchable scenes. ‘The Kissing Booth’, however, captured the comedy and romance a little more successfully. Saying this, there still are embarrassing awkward teenage scenes. Although, they are played well as they become relatable in this coming of age film. Joey King is fantastic in her role as Elle Evans. She isn’t acted awkwardly, but rather she becomes the role and you believe her as Elle. She’s a great character to have at our centre of the screen, likable who you end up rooting for.

With the name of ‘The Kissing Booth’, this film inevitably revolves a lot around romance. Elle has had a long-standing crush on her best friend’s brother. However, having those emotions breaks number 9 of Lee and Elle’s friendship pact – relatives are off limits. At school, Noah, otherwise simply known by his surname Flynn, is the embodiment of infatuation by most girls at school. He’s developed a reputation as the bad boy, the polar opposite of his little brother Lee. ‘The Kissing Booth’ is successful in achieving the giddy feeling many romance films create in their audiences. Although, saying this, there were moments of this romance which seemed to make the characters more real and flawed. This was more obvious in Noah’s character, which meant there were moments that I wasn’t rooting for the romance.

I wouldn’t say it’s the most successful teen film, I think I’ll always rank ’10 Things I Hate About You’ and ‘Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging’ higher as two examples of my original go-to chick flicks. If I’m completely honest, I don’t think I’ll ever find a teen movie which can beat ’10 Things I Hate About You’. Anyway, ‘The Kissing Booth’ doesn’t quite hit this standard, although still thoroughly enjoyable with those feel-good moments.

This Netflix Original movie was very entertaining to watch. It has all the classic chick flick and teen movie elements that you need – comedy, friendship, romance. As I’ve said, you root for the main protagonist, she is great to watch. There were also many moments that made me laugh and I would definitely watch it again. One thing I really loved the most was the friendship between Elle and Lee. If you don’t root for the romance in the film, because if I’m completely I did have my ups and downs with it, the friendship is worth so much more anyway and its just that, a friendship. I completely understand that these types of films are a love or a hate differing between every watcher. But in my opinion, if you are a lover of teenage cheesy romcoms, this one does not disappoint.

Leave a comment