Herbie: Fully Loaded (2005)

How can they make me feel so many emotions with just a little car? I watched this film, I don’t even know how many times as a child. I don’t even know why it has become such a nostalgic film for me… But, I swear this is the reason I hated going to get my first car scrapped when it died on me. Herbie made me feel that cars have emotions! I just love this cute little Volkswagen Bug. All he wants to do is race!

Herbie began as a set of movies created in the late 60s, throughout the 70s and even briefly in the 80s and 90s. In 2005, they brought Herbie back with a brand new cast. ‘Herbie: Fully Loaded’ stars Lindsay Lohan, Michael Keaton, Justin Long, Breckin Meyer, Matt Dillon and Cheryl Hines. I do love the cast of this movie, it’s classic early 2000s.

From ‘Magic’ to ‘Working for the Weekend’, from ‘Born to be Wild’ to ‘More Than a Feeling’; the soundtrack for this film is amazing. I do think the music has to be one of the best qualities.

I can completely accept that this is not a film to break cinematic history, it’s not ground breaking. But it’s just rubbish escapism. It has a solid plot that’s easy to follow: Maggie Peyton (Lindsay Lohan) has always wanted to race, but her father (Michael Keaton) will not allow her to. It’s lucky she then meets (yes meets) the car who would do anything to race again.

‘Herbie: Fully Loaded’ has become a nostalgic film from my childhood. Watching this today, I can see why it’s hated, I could probably see why it’s disliked for the generation growing up watching the original Herbie films too. Nevertheless, I become lost into this fantasy world where a car has the biggest dream. Plus, I love that Maggie wants to become a race car driver despite it being seen as a ‘male’ profession. I just enjoy the simple escapism of this movie.

Leave a comment