Walking on Sunshine (2014)

This is truly terrible, but did I sit through the entire thing? I sure did. I couldn’t help but laugh at how bad it was, it’s the definition of a cheesy film. I couldn’t help sing along to the songs. I’m ashamed to say, it filled me with simple happiness… Crap musicals are such guilty pleasures!

As a musical, ‘Walking on Sunshine’ sings the hits of the 1980s as the name suggests. We’ve got hits from Madonna, Whitney Houston and Wham!, amongst others. Safe to say, the originals of these songs are a million times better. Unfortunately, there were times I felt some of these classics were ruined. Regardless, I did love the soundtrack, it’s cheesy pop music. Also, you’d never guess who rocks up in this film… the one and only Leona Lewis and we all know she can actually sing. There were dance numbers and many songs to sing along to, I can’t lie, they were fun and ridiculous which made me giggle constantly.

‘Walking on Sunshine’ follows a pretty simplistic romance comedy idea. Prior to present day, Taylor (Hannah Arterton) descended on a holiday romance, but she left to return home for university. Flash three years later, we return to Puglia in Italy where her sister has currently been on her own whirlwind romance. Once her sister, Maddie (Annabel Scholey) reveals that she is in fact engaged, it won’t come as a shock to find that her fiancé is non other than Taylor’s holiday romance, Raf (Giulio Berruti). We then continue to watch as they both struggle through unsaid emotions in a romance comedy. Predictable in the most predictable ways.

‘Walking on Sunshine’ is a completely and utterly trash film, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. I can’t say the acting is always great, the two main girls were probably the best, Maddie preferably over Taylor surprisingly. There were times I was cringing underneath my duvet unable to watch. But the soundtrack is banging and I couldn’t help but adore the brightness, the cheesiness and the predictability. It is what it is, but it’s completely harmless and even funny at times.

Leave a comment