A Christmas Prince (2017)

A Netflix Original film that was pushed to the top of my recommended list; I have finally watched it. It looked like a cheesy, romantic, chickflick that you either love or hate – and I love them! It definitely fell into this category, so if you hate these sorts of films, this one couldn’t get closer to the genre, so stay away. But if you’re like me and love a feel-good romcom, then this one is fab, especially around Christmas to get you into the festive spirit.

The star of the film is Rose McIver, which was another reason I was drawn into watching this. Those that may watch ‘iZombie’, would recognise this actress as the one and only dead-zombie murder investigator in Seattle. In ‘A Christmas Prince’ she instead plays a reporter with the opportunity to finally get her big break – to get the scoop on the scandalous Prince of Aldovia, Richard (Ben Lamb).

A Christmas Prince - Amber

I have to admit, there are a lot of familiarities in this film to others alike. Although, there are parts which are different to bring a freshness. Regardless, Amber (Rose McIver) discovers that when she meets this “playboy” Prince as the press call him, he is not what he seems at all, just like Kevin realises in ‘27 Dresses’ (one of my favourite films) that Jane isn’t what she seems. The whole essence of this film, for some reason, I think it was the look of the places, constantly reminded me of ‘The Princess Diaries’, both the first and second. Plus, the converse with dresses has to remind you of Hilary Duff in ‘A Cinderella Story’ right? Anyway, the named films are great anyway, so surely that just makes this one great too? Nevertheless, you don’t watch these sorts of films to be surprised or to watch something different – if you are, I suggest a different route. You have to watch them because they make you feel good, they have that cute soppy ending that warms your heart. They’re just nice films! ‘A Christmas Prince’ is definitely one of these.

A Christmas Prince - all

Saying this, there are still some different elements in this film that did surprise me. But not in a bad way, quite the opposite, parts of the film were refreshing and covered different subjects other chickflicks haven’t. I actually couldn’t predict the whole film, I thought I could, but there were parts I didn’t see coming and I didn’t expect to happen – overall, what I thought would happen did, but that’s obvious, it was just nice to see some different elements.

A Christmas Prince - Amber and Emily

‘A Christmas Prince’ tells the tale of a Prince struggling to decide whether he can fill his father’s shoes as King; and a reporter posing as Princess Emily’s (Honor Kneafsey) tutor. Princess Emily who is a fab character. ‘A Christmas Prince’ has some comical moments and some cringey moments, but an all-round feel-good movie with lots of romance. It’s not the best film I’ve ever seen, but it’s soppy and wonderful by the end anyway. Follow as Amber searches for the truth for her article around the magical snow of Aldovia and the grand palace with horses and wolves.

Leave a comment