The Princess Switch (2018)

This Netflix Original seems to be a mix of ‘Parent Trap’ and ‘Cinderella’, then throw in that it is also a Christmas film; I think it’s fair to say that I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything cheesier. With Vanessa Hudgens at the centre, this film follows look-alikes Chicago baker Stacy De Novo and Duchess Lady Margaret, fiancé to the Prince of Belgravia. When they bump into each other, the likeness is uncanny (both played by Vanessa Hudgens if I didn’t mention that…), they then hatch a plan to swap places for two days living each other’s lives.

Safe to say this is a rather simple plot and I really don’t have any problem with that. It’s an easy film to follow. However, I wouldn’t say this is the most original film there has ever been. We all know that the doppelganger plot has been done before, although I know that doesn’t mean that they can never do it again. Regardless, I was hoping it would be a little better than it was. I was hoping that there would be more of a difference between the two characters in Stacy and Margaret rather than the accents. Even though, there were a few personality differences, I was hoping for a few other characteristics to really resemble that they were different people. But the characters were very one-note, they could have explored the character backgrounds, but they remained incredibly basic. It was like the characters were only needed for the romance in the film, nothing else.

I cannot count the times that I was sat cringing over this movie. From the minute I heard Vanessa Hudgens’ British accent, I must have lost all hope for anything redeeming. Nevertheless, I couldn’t help but watch the entire film. To add onto the horrific British accent, the acting really wasn’t great either. It was awkward, even uncomfortable to watch at times. I stress, I cannot count how many cringe-worthy scenes there were. On the other hand, there were some great aesthetics in the film, the bright scenes, the royal costumes, they were done well throughout the film.

‘The Princess Switch’ is a romance comedy with a Christmas twist. It is incredibly predictable and cheesy. I do have to be honest, there were moments that were cute and did make me smile or even giggle at most. I was even a little invested in one of the potential couples, the one involving the Prince. There were some good scenes with them. But the whole comedy element was over clouded by pure laughter of awkwardness and cringing. It almost becomes funny how terrible this film really was. These new Christmas films just never seem to have the same potential as the classics we all know and love. This was a combination of a Christmas film and the new romance comedies that Netflix are loving to create in the past few years. And well, it wasn’t super…

Leave a comment